Artwork and Book Reviews!

“I MADE HIM up. At least that’s what I always told myself. The combination of all my childhood adoration’s, combined into one perfect guy. The trouble is, I was wrong.”

Alice is a new student at Bennet Academy, having moved from New York. Unfortunately, she hasn’t been able to focus lately because of what she has been dreaming of at night. A completely made up boy named Max. Made up? Nope. That’s not the case when on the first day of school, she walks into Psych 201 and the boy of her dreams coincidentally named “Max” is sitting there in the classroom. Not only that but more of her dreams begin to seep into her reality.

I was really pleasantly surprised how the author flawlessly crafted many different characters and their perspectives, breaking apart high school cliques and stereotypes. I can’t stand when authors have to make every other character a bully toward the protagonist. We are lucky enough to not have that in this book! Celeste, who would normally end up being our main characters arch enemy, ended up being one of my favorite characters! Who woulda thunk?

Honestly, I loved these characters and the dynamic between them. I think Alice and Max are all the more powerful because it feels so real and honest. The only thing I didn’t understand was there whole reason for not being able to be together. They apparently missed too much of each others lives?

“Max experienced a whole life without me”

They’re only 16. Trust me kids, you haven’t missed a thing. Other than that, the people in this book feel both unique and universal at the same time.

Alice is a very quirky character full of metaphors about life that make you laugh. She’s super cool and you can’t help but relate to her. Especially the part about her bedroom being eggshell white with twinkling lights.. My bedroom. Also the part where they go to the alpaca farm.. My favorite animal is a llama. ❤

I’m really excited for any future releases by Lucy Keating. I’ll be keeping an eye out!

4 out of 5 stars

Release date: April 12th 2016

29349492

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

