Artwork and Book Reviews!

“At 2:46 on Friday, March 11, 2016, a 9.0-magnitude earthquake struck the Tohoku region of Honshu, Japan. It was the strongest temblor ever to hit that quake-prone country, and the fourth largest in the world. It lasted six minutes. After the quake struck, a massive tsunami followed. Waves reaching up to 133 feet.”

11,106 aftershocks
Approximately 15,889 deaths
6,152 injured
2,601 still missing
127,290 buildings destroyed

This is Up From the Sea. We follow a young boy by the name of Kai living in a coastal village in Japan. We relive his whole devastating experience while he loses everyone he loves.

“At 2:46 p.m., when I’m sitting in Math, waiting for the bell to ring, and the earth starts to shake.”

Throughout the story we do get glimpses of Kai’s normal life before the tragic event which adds a blend of light and dark, happiness and not-happiness, and it’s incredibly effective.

I wasn’t planning on reading this book for another few days. I simply grabbed it from my shelf just to read the first sentence. A normal routine I do with every new book I receive. I read that one sentence. Sit down and found myself completely immersed and changing it from TBR to Currently Reading almost immediately. Which lead to me finishing the entire thing in one sitting.

The entirety of this book is written in verse and I thought “is that going to take the emotion away from this tragic eventful story?” NO. In all honesty, I wouldn’t want this book written any other way.

It’s heartbreaking, terrifying, disturbing, and oh so very important.

4 out of 5 stars

Thank you Leza for sending me a copy to review.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

